miracles, Monday's Posts

Follow Him in Faith

As a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, we study from a manual called Come Follow Me. This week the lesson is titled “Be Not Afraid” {https://www.lds.org/study/manual/come-follow-me-for-individuals-and-families-new-testament-2019/13?lang=eng}. I have always loved the story of Peter walking on water. It is simply amazing! But what I and so many of you also love, is how he was rescued by the Savior.

This picture is in the manual. “Against the Wind” by Liz Lemon Swindle

In the opening paragraph of the manual it says:

What could have inspired Peter to leave the safety of his boat in the middle of the Sea of Galilee during a boisterous storm?

What led him to believe that if Jesus could walk on water, he could too?

We can’t know for certain, but perhaps Peter understood that the Son of God came not just to do wonderful things for the people but to empower people like Peter to do wonderful things too. Jesus’s invitation, after all, was “Come, follow me” (Luke 18:22). Peter had accepted this invitation once, and he was willing to accept it again, even if it meant facing his fears and doing something that seemed impossible.

Perhaps the Lord will not ask us to step out of a boat in the middle of a storm or contribute our meager supply of bread when thousands need to eat, but He may ask us to accept directions even when we don’t fully understand them. Whatever His invitations to us may be, they may sometimes seem surprising or even frightening. But miracles can happen if we, like Peter, will set aside our fears, our doubts, and our limited understanding and follow Him in faith.”

I have felt a bit like Peter lately. I have the faith as I follow the promptings I’m given, but then I start noticing the wind and rain, and begin to doubt that I can do what I was inspired to do. So this lesson really touched my heart as I studied it with my family. Jesus wasn’t far away from Peter as he walked-Jesus was right by his side! He IMMEDIATELY reached out to help him as soon as Peter uttered the words “Lord, save me”{Matthew 14:30}. And the next verse said, “And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?“.

I have felt that reprimand as well. When we receive inspiration to do something hard, that stretches our faith, we are not asked to do it alone. The Savior stands with us, at the ready to catch us the moment we fall… but we must ask for help with faith knowing He will be right there.

I just love Peter. I love that through all his imperfections we read about in the scriptures, he is incredibly faithful to the end of his life. He goes through a lot, his faith waivers, yet over time, his faith becomes rock solid. So much that he gives his life for what he knows.

I hope that this week, your faith to follow the Savior, Jesus Christ will be strengthened. Your knowledge that the Savior is at the ready, walking with you through everything. We just need to have faith to keep walking. Because when it’s really hard, we know it’s the Savior who carries us through the toughest challenges.

Painting by my daughter Lydia “Footprints in the Sand”

I love you all. Thank you for helping me. You help me through this journey of life more than you know.

Life is Good. Share the Good.

PS. Stay tuned for this weeks Wednesday story! You won’t want to miss it.:)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.